Running a super busy daily activity, sometimes makes you often miss breakfast. Cereal options have become a quick alternative also beneficial for everyone. One of them is Lucky Charms. This product is very popular and popular with children. Find out more about Are Lucky Charms Gluten Free: Nutritional Content and Benefits.
By listening to this article, you can find out the cereal nutrients contained from the labels and ingredients list in Lucky Charms.
What is Lucky Charms?
Lucky Charms is a cereal brand that children and adults love. It has been produced by the food company General Mills since 1964. General Mills is also known for other popular cereals, such as Cheerios.
Lucky Charms cereal consists of pieces of roasted oats and the shape of a multi-colored marshmallow (“marbit” or marshmallow beetroot). The label features a leprechaun mascot, Lucky, animated in the ad.
Are Lucky Charms Gluten-Free?
true. Lucky Charms is very gluten-free indeed. Although wheat and marshmallows are naturally gluten-free, sometimes additional grains from barley, oats, and rye, can contain gluten. This is because it is mixed during the harvesting process as well as transportation from agriculture.
What ingredients are used to make Lucky Charms?
Whole Wheat (gluten-free) Oats, Sugar, Oat Flour (gluten-free), Corn Syrup, Modified Cornstarch, CornStarch, Dextrose, Salt, Gelatin, Trisodium Phosphate, Yellow 5 &6, Red 40, Blue 1 and Other Colors Added Natural and Artificial Flavors.
Vitamin E (tocopherol mixture) Added to Maintain Freshness. Vitamins and Minerals: Calcium Carbonate, Zinc, and Iron (mineral nutrients), Vitamin C (sodium ascorbic), Vitamin AB (niacinamide), Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), Vitamin B2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate), Vitamin A (palmitate), Vitamin AB, Vitamin B12 and Vitamin D3.
Original Lucky Charms Cereal
True to the name of lucky charms, this product presents all the magical and delicious lucky things. In lucky charms, there are various forms of marshmallows such as heart, stars, horseshoes, clover, blue moon, unicorn, rainbow, and red balloon with delicious taste. Plus oats that have a crispy texture and gluten-free.
What is the nutritional content of Lucky Charms?
- Serving Size: 3/4 cup (27 g)
- Servings Per Container: Approx. 17
- Total Calories: 110
- Calories from Fat: 10
Quantity Per Serving: Based on the daily value of the 2000 calorie diet. This value can be lower or higher depending on your daily calorie needs.
Total Fat: 1 g and 2% of Daily Value (DV)
Saturated Fat: 0 g and 0% of DV
Trans Fat: 0 g
Polyunsaturated fats: 0g
Monounsaturated fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 0 mg and 0% of DV
Sodium: 170 mg and 7% of DV
Potassium: 50 mg and 1% of DV
Carbohydrate Amount: 22 g and 7% of DV
Dietary Fiber: 2 g and 6% of DV
Sugar: 10 g
Other carbohydrates: 10g
Protein: 2 g
Vitamin A: 10% of DV
Vitamin C: 10% of DV
Calcium: 10% of DV
Iron: 25% of DV
Vitamin D: 10% of DV
Thiamine: 25% of DV
Riboflavin: 25% of DV
Niacin: 25% of DV
Vitamin B6: 25% of DV
Folic acid: 50% of DV
Vitamin B12: 25% of DV
Phosphorus: 4% of DV
Magnesium: 4% of DV
Zinc: 25% of DV
Lucky Charms is available in a variety of favorite variants.
Among them are:
- Limited-Edition Galactic Lucky Charms
- Lucky Charms Marshmallow Clusters
- Lucky Charms Honey Clovers Cereal
- Chocolate Lucky Charms Cereal
How much and where can I buy Lucky Charms?
Lucky Charms Marshmallow Cereal, Gluten Free, 14.9 Oz sells at $11.50. It’s also available online at Walmart and other grocery stores.
What are the benefits of consuming Lucky Charms?
An adequate source of carbohydrates
Carbohydrates can be a source of energy for the body in carrying out various functions, as well as performing various activities every day.
It contains a wide range of vitamins and minerals
As already known in the nutritional information of Lucky Charms provides a variety of vitamins and minerals. It is certainly good for the body to remain adequately nourished.
Is Lucky Charms dairy-free?
Lucky Charms does not include vegans because according to the ingredient list, this product contains gelatin. Gelatin comes from the hooves of cows. That way, it is a product classified as an animal.
Vegans do not consume any animal products, such as milk, cheese, yogurt, cream, meat, seafood, poultry, or honey.
Are Lucky Charms healthy?
Lucky Charms doesn’t contain high amounts of sodium. In one serving it serves 190 mg, and this amount can contribute to the risk of high blood pressure. Preferably, you should limit your sodium intake to 1500 to 2300 mg per day.
Is Lucky Charm bad for you?
Lucky Charms is a breakfast cereal made by a general factory and marketed especially to children with leprechaun cartoons. General Mills emphasizes the fact that this cereal has pieces of whole grains. However, it also contains brightly colored marshmallows made mostly from sugar.
Whole grains provide at least two grams of fiber for each serving. Although the oats do offer some nutritional hope for Lucky Charms, they can’t fight off sweet little marshmallows that can raise sugar levels by up to 10 grams for every 3/4 cup serving.
Given that the recommended daily allowance for sugar is about 25 grams for women and 37 grams for men. If you have one and a half cups of Lucky Charms without milk, you will eat half of the sugar for the day.
More worrying than the sugar in marshmallows is the dye that gives it a bright color. Dyes listed in the material include yellow 5 &6, red 40, blue 1, even some unknown dyes covered by “other colors added”.
Yellow 5 &6 as well as red 40, all contains compounds that have been linked to cancer. In addition, the relationship between food coloring and health problems in children such as allergies and behavioral problems.
Lucky Charms may look fun with its sweetness being a favorite for both children and adults, but they have very few quality nutrients. If you need a quick energy boost, each serving provides 22 grams of carbohydrates. But beyond that, sugar and dyes have the potential to pose a health risk.
Although this cereal provides some vitamins and minerals daily, since it does not come from whole foods, your body may not be able to process them. Lucky Charms is an acceptable treat to eat occasionally, but it is not recommended to be a regular part of a healthy diet.
From now on, it would be wise to determine what cereals to consume in the long run. You may also need to know about Honey Bunches of Oats cereals. That way, you can consider which cereals are good for daily consumption.
Possible Short-term Side Effects of Lucky Charms
- Behavioral issues
- Learning problems
Possible Long-Term Side Effects of Lucky Charms